Hills House, 38 Gray Street
An enormous dead tree in front of historic Hills House awaits a lot more whittling. Would come in handy inside the Hills House this winter as the historic home boasts eight fireplaces.
The mansion was built in 1865 for one of Amherst's first business barons, Henry Hills, who at one time owned one of the largest hat factories in America.
The Amherst Boys and Girls Club purchased the sprawling estate back in 1976 for $83,500 after the town took their downtown building by eminent domain for the Bangs Community Center project.
Developer Barry Roberts purchased it in 2007 for $725,000 and the Boys and Girls Club moved back to town center renting space from the Knights of Columbus. The current owners snapped it up from Mr. Roberts in 2008 for the bargain sum of $1,120,000.
Last May Amherst Town Meeting rezoned from General Residence to Neighborhood Business the sprawling front 2 parcels to allow Amherst Media to build a new building there, which of course will somewhat spoil the current majestic views.
Hills House h-u-g-e front lawn rolls down to Main St. New home of Amherst Media?