Old Chapel sits next to the tallest library in the country
Work begins this summer on the historic preservation of a central located iconic symbol that has become virtually synonymous with UMass/Amherst.
The Old Chapel, built 1885, has been abandoned since the 1996 when the UMass marching band moved on. But it has remained a hard-to-miss, pretty-as-a-picture, scene-stealer ever since. And will become even more so after the renovations are complete.
The $21 million project is expected to be completed in fall, 2016
Last summer the Old Chapel was nominated for inclusion on the National Register of Historic Places by the private advocacy group Preserve UMass.
Amherst currently has seven individual locations listed on National Register of Historic Places including of course the Dickinson Homestead, West Cemetery and the Strong House in town center.